No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Northwood
93 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
Final
72 Finlandia
119 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
Final
64 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
Final
60 Algoma University (Ontario)
117 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
Final
68 Wayne State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
Final
63 Ashland
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
Final
56 Michigan Tech
69 at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
Final
84 Michigan Tech
77 at Purdue Northwest
Westville, Ind.
Thu Jan 16
Final
81 Lake Superior State
102 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
Final
90 Ferris State
102 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
Final - OT
93 Michigan Tech
95 at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
Final
69 Michigan Tech
61 at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
Final
63 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
Final
69 Michigan Tech
73 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
Final
72 Purdue Northwest
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
Final
55 Parkside
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
Final
71 Michigan Tech
76 at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
Final
69 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
Final
63 Davenport
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
Final
70 Grand Valley State
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Thu Feb 27
Final
91 Michigan Tech
61 at Northern Michigan
Tue Mar 03
Final
56 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 07
Final
69 Michigan Tech
53 at Grand Valley State
GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Mar 08
Final
57 Northwood
68 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Allendale Charter Township, MI GLIAC Tournament Championship
Sat Mar 14
Cancelled
Bellarmine
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Indianapolis NCAA Midwest Regional
View Full Schedule

Huskies Top Wayne State 80-68

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team kicked off the 2020 calendar year with an 80-68 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win Thursday night over Wayne State in the SDC Gym. The Huskies have now won seven of their last eight games to go to 9-3 on the season.

"I thought we had a couple of really good days of practice this week and we were ready to play tonight after an extended break," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We beat a very good Wayne State team that is well coached, plays hard, and is disciplined. I was really excited that we were able to play a solid game tonight and get a key win. I was happy with the way we stuck with our game plan and executed, especially down the stretch. I liked our team's composure tonight and how fluid we were on offense.

"We face another good team in Ashland Saturday that was ranked as high as No. 10 in the national poll earlier this season. They have struggled a bit early in the GLIAC schedule, but they have some extremely talented players and are well coached. We need to focus on ourselves, continue to play Tech basketball, and give everything we have this Saturday."

Michigan Tech (9-3, 3-1 GLIAC) pulled in front first when junior Trent Bell found the mark from long distance in the opening minute of the first half. Wayne State (4-4, 1-3 GLIAC) battled back with the next five points on a tip-in by Nate Talbot and a three-point basket courtesy of Brailen Neely with 17:34 to go in the period.

Senior Kyle Monroe then ignited a 10-0 scoring run with a layup for the Huskies to tie the contest at 5-5 with 15:59 showing on the clock. Monroe also drew a foul on the attempt and sank the bonus free throw, giving Tech the edge once again. Monroe would eventually be responsible for all 10 of the points in the scoring burst, culminating on jumper with 13:44 left in the first half. The bucket made it a 13-5 score in favor of the Huskies.

The Huskies offense created a pair of 10-point leads in the first half, but Wayne State was able to stay within striking distance. Junior Dawson Bilski dropped in a triple to generate a 21-11 advantage for the Huskies with 9:15 left in the opening frame. Tech then led 23-13 on another Bilski field goal after two free throws from Karim Murray had cut the gap to single digits.

The Warriors closed to within three points with 3:31 left until the intermission on a tip-in by Talbot. Monroe countered the Talbot field goal with a trey and found the bottom of the net on a jumper in the closing seconds of the half to give the Huskies a 37-31 advantage at the intermission.

Tech kept the momentum moving forward into the second half when sophomore Owen White filled up a triple, setup by an offensive rebound by Monroe. White's basket bumped the lead for Tech up to nine points again at 40-31. Senior Ryan Schuller produced what would be the largest lead of the night for the Huskies at the 15:32 mark thanks to a pair of free throws, resulting in a 50-36 score.

However, Wayne State was able to hang around and sliced Tech's lead down to single digits again at 58-50 on a Karim Murray jumper with 9:57 to play. The Huskies were able to connect on some big shots down the stretch though to keep the Warriors at arm's length. Junior Tommy Lucca cashed in two chances at the free throw line to boost the advantage for the Huskies back out to 14 points at 78-64 with 55 seconds remaining. The final points of the night were recorded by Wayne State's Neely, leading to the 80-68 final.

Monroe poured in a game high 35 points by connecting on 13 of 20 attempts from the field, including 5 of 8 chances from long distance. Monroe also recorded a double-double with 10 rebounds and dished out four assists. Bilski followed with 15 points and six boards while Lucca rounded out the double-digit scorers with 11 points and a game high nine assists. The Huskies turned the ball over just five times in Thursday's win.

Michigan Tech found the mark on 28 of 61 field goal attempts (45.9%), fired in 11 of 28 shots from outside the arc (39.3%), and finished the evening 13 for 18 at the free throw line (72.2%). The Huskies dished out 19 assists and had 19 second chance points from 12 offensive rebounds.

Murray guided the Warriors with 23 points and eight rebounds followed by Neely with 21 points and four assists. James Gordon chipped in 10 points and Talbot closed the contest with nine points and eight rebounds of his own. The Warriors made good on 24 of their 58 field goal attempts (41.4%), 7 of 16 looks from three-point range (43.8%), and 13 of 19 opportunities at the free throw line (68.4%).

The Huskies will host Ashland in another GLIAC game on Saturday to wrap up the seven game homestand at the SDC Gym. The Eagles fell at Northern Michigan Thursday night 74-61. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 3 p.m. eastern time.