No events to show.

Women's Volleyball

Ten NCAA Appearances 1994 GLIAC Champions

De Marchi receives GLIAC Commissioner’s Award

De Marchi receives GLIAC Commissioner’s Award

HOUGHTON, Mich. – Michigan Tech volleyball player Laura De Marchi was one of the six female recipients of the 2019 Fall GLIAC Commissioner's Award the league announced on Wednesday (Jan. 29). The award is presented after the Fall, Winter, and Spring athletic seasons to six female and six male student-athletes that excel both in the classroom and on the fields of play.

De Marchi was named an AVCA Honorable Mention All-American, All-Midwest Region by the AVCA and D2CCA, CoSIDA Academic All-District, the GLIAC Setter of the Year, and to the All-GLIAC First Team in 2019. The native of Milan, Italy holds a 3.84 grade-point average in biomedical engineering and is a two-time GLIAC All-Academic Excellence Team member.

De Marchi was also honored on the NCAA Midwest Region's All-Tournament Team, Midwest Region Crossover All-Tournament Team, and the GLIAC North Division Player of the Week on September 23. The junior setter tallied her 3,000th career assist on October 4 and ranks third in program history with 3,588 assists. De Marchi led the GLIAC in assists per set at 11.59 to rank seventh in the nation and sixth in program history. She also tallied 260 digs, 81 kills, 40 blocks, and 20 service aces. She had 13 matches with 40 assists, six with 50 assists, and one with 60 while also notching 13 double-doubles.

In her career, De Marchi is a three-time GLIAC Setter of the Year, three-time All-GLIAC First Team member, two-time Honorable Mention All-American, and two-time All-Region selection. She was named team MVP in 2019.

Rachel Pohlod (2016) and Jen Jung (2008) are other former Tech volleyball players to receive the GLIAC Commissioner's Award.

The other female student-athletes recipients in 2019 were Allyson Cappel (Ferris State), Bri Rogers (Ferris State), Katie Etelamaki (Ferris State), Hanna Groeber (Grand Valley State), and Cecilia Steinwascher (Grand Valley State).

The six male honorees were Clay Shreve (Ashland), Sam Heyboer (Ferris State), Travis Russell (Ferris State), Tyler Bradfield (Grand Valley State), Kyle Toth (Wayne State), and Leki Prpa (Parkside).