No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
Final
28 Northern Michigan
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
Final
55 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
Final
85 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
81 at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
55 at Purdue Northwest
Westville, Ind.
Thu Jan 16
Final
52 Lake Superior State
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
Final - OT
80 Ferris State
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
Final
44 Michigan Tech
70 at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
Final
66 Michigan Tech
81 at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
Final
50 Michigan Tech
62 at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
Final
77 Michigan Tech
85 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
Final
53 Purdue Northwest
63 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
Final
80 Parkside
66 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
Final
70 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
Final
75 Michigan Tech
61 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
Final
60 Davenport
74 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
Final
70 Grand Valley State
49 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Thu Feb 27
Final
51 Michigan Tech
48 at Northern Michigan
Tue Mar 03
Final
34 Michigan Tech
65 at Grand Valley State
GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Record 74-60 Victory over Davenport

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team picked up their second win in a row with a 74-60 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory at home over Davenport University Thursday night in the SDC Gym. The Huskies are battling for a spot in the upcoming conference tournament and the win was crucial. The victory setup Tech in a three-way tied for sixth place in the overall conference standings, with the top eight teams advancing to the postseason.

"I thought it was critical that we had a fast start tonight," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "We have had a number of slow starts throughout the season and that was a point of emphasis for us coming into tonight's game. I'm really proud of the way that we showed some resiliency when they made a push to get back in the game in the second quarter. Defensively, our overall effort to create ball pressure was critical for us tonight. It is exciting that at this time of the year we are starting to play our best basketball and get our confidence back. This was a big win for us tonight moving forward into Saturday's game against Grand Valley State."

Michigan Tech (10-15, 8-10 GLIAC) struck first when senior Ellie Welsh cut to the basket for a layup 21 seconds into the contest. Davenport (7-19, 2-16 GLIAC) picked up basket number one of the evening when Jenna Falkenberg found some space in the lane for a short jumper to make it a 2-2. The Huskies generated the next five points to go up 7-2 with 8:20 to play in the first period. Senior Abbie Botz found the target on a mid-range jumper followed by a triple courtesy of senior Hannah Hobson.

The Panthers battled back to tie the contest at 9-9 on a conventional three-point play from Madison Jones with 6:21 on the clock, but a quick triple in response from sophomore Ellie Mackay vaulted the Huskies back in front 12-9. Three-point baskets from freshmen Katelyn Meister and Sara Dax along with Mackay finding the mark from long distance helped Tech construct a 21-11 lead with just over two minutes remaining in the first quarter. The Huskies would increase the gap to 11 points at 24-13 on a triple from Mackay in the final 30 seconds before a Falkenberg layup sliced the lead to 24-15 for Tech going into the second period.

The Panthers used the first six minutes of the second quarter to climb to within one of the Huskies at 28-27 courtesy of a free throw from Scout Nelson. However, freshman Kylie Mogen came through with a clutch three-point basket on the ensuing possession that stopped the Davenport charge and helped keep the Huskies on top. Tech eventually held a 35-32 edge going into the locker room at halftime.

Mackay got things rolling for Tech in the third quarter with back-to-back treys, which opened up a 41-32 advantage with just over a minute gone by in the frame. The Huskies expanded their lead to double digits once again at 48-38 on a Hobson layup with 4:45 on the third quarter clock. Tech finished off the quarter with five consecutive points on a Meister three-point bucket and a Mackay jumper right before time expired to make it a 61-47 score with 30 minutes in the books.

The Huskies largest lead of the night occurred at the 7:10 mark of the fourth quarter on a Dax free throw to make it 64-47. Tech then led by double digits the rest of the way with junior Cassidy Trotter closing out the contest in the final minute at the charity stripe. Trotter cashed in both chances at the line, resulting in the 74-60 final score.

Mackay powered the Huskies attack with a career high 27 points thanks in part to a 7 for 9 shooting performance from behind the arc. She also added five rebounds, three assists, and two steals to the stat sheet Thursday evening. Mackay's previous career high of 25 points was set earlier this season on November 18 at Minnesota State. Botz followed with 10 points and a game high 13 rebounds while Hobson and Meister collected seven points each. Trotter chipped in four points and dished out a team high six assists.

As a team, Tech wrapped up the game making 28 of 55 shots from the field (50.9%), were 12 of 28 from three-point range (42.9%), and 6 for 8 at the free throw line (75.0%). The Huskies out-rebounded the Panthers 42-31, combined for 19 assists, and had 28 points in the paint.

Falkenberg led the Panthers with 24 points and eight rebounds followed by Madison Jones with 12 points and Nelson with 11 points. Jones came up with five steals while Toni Grace chipped in six points and distributed four assists. The Panthers converted on only 22 of 64 shots from the field (34.4%), were 3 for 20 from behind the arc (15.0%), and 13 of 19 at the free throw line (68.4%).

The Huskies will be back on the court Saturday for Senior Day when they host No. 6 Grand Valley State. The tip-off is slated for 1 p.m. eastern time.