No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
Final
28 Northern Michigan
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
Final
55 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
Final
85 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
81 at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
55 at Purdue Northwest
Westville, Ind.
Thu Jan 16
Final
52 Lake Superior State
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
Final - OT
80 Ferris State
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
Final
44 Michigan Tech
70 at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
Final
66 Michigan Tech
81 at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
Final
50 Michigan Tech
62 at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
Final
77 Michigan Tech
85 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
Final
53 Purdue Northwest
63 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
Final
80 Parkside
66 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
Final
70 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
Final
75 Michigan Tech
61 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
Final
60 Davenport
74 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
Final
70 Grand Valley State
49 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Thu Feb 27
Final
51 Michigan Tech
48 at Northern Michigan
Tue Mar 03
Final
34 Michigan Tech
65 at Grand Valley State
GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Overtake Lake Superior State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team overcame a slow start and pulled away for a 62-52 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win Thursday night against Lake Superior State in the SDC Gym. The Huskies faced a 13-5 deficit after the first quarter, but outscored the Lakers 22-10 in the second quarter to take the lead at the half, which set the foundation for a key victory.

"It was great to see how our players responded to the slow start with an outstanding second quarter," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "It was huge for us to go into halftime with the lead and some momentum. Credit goes to Lake Superior State because they came ready to play and had great energy. Tonight's game came down to defense and I thought both teams defended really hard. Our pressure bothered them and we forced 19 turnovers that led to 23 points for us, which made the difference in the game.

"Ferris State is a great team and hopefully our players can come in and understand that we are going to have to play really well to beat them. They have some solid players both on the perimeter and in the post so we'll have to be ready to defend everywhere on the floor. Night in and night out in the GLIAC it's going to be a battle and that will certainly be the case again on Saturday."

Lake Superior State (6-9, 2-6 GLIAC) opened up Thursday's game with the first five points of the night on a layup from Lexie Khon followed by a triple out of the hand of Claire Radtke. Michigan Tech (7-8, 5-3 GLIAC) countered with the next five points to knot the score at 5-5 with 6:14 to play in the first quarter. Junior Cassidy Trotter converted a conventional three-point play followed by a layup from junior Baillie McGirk who was back in the lineup for the Huskies.

Tech's offense then went cold for the remainder of the quarter and the Lakers' offense proceeded to post the next eight points to go up 13-5 with 10 minutes in the books. Radtke capped the run with a jumper at the 1:28 mark of the first frame. The Huskies got the spark they needed offensively at the beginning of the second quarter when senior Ellie Welsh and Trotter filled up back-to-back three-point buckets to close the gap to 13-11.

Trailing 16-14 with just over seven minutes to go in the second, senior Abbie Botz produced a key three-point field goal to push Tech in front 17-16. It was also the match that ignited a 10-0 scoring run that culminated on a McGirk layup to make it 24-16 with 4:18 to play in the second period. The Lakers were able to close the gap down to four points at 27-23 with a minute left in the half on a Khon jumper, but the strong second quarter gave the Huskies a crucial advantage going into the locker room at halftime.

Lake Superior State tied the game 27-27 with the first four points of the third quarter and then the two teams traded field goals over the next two possessions. Trotter gave the Huskies a 34-29 lead on a pair of layups and then Welsh reestablished a seven-point edge at 36-29 for Tech thanks to a layup of her own with 7:07 remaining in the third.

The Lakers were able to slice the gap down to 36-32 with 5:29 on the third quarter clock, but the Huskies outscored Lake Superior State 10-1 over the next five minutes to build their largest lead of the game at 46-33 with less than a minute to play in the third. Mackay did the honors with two free throws and Tech eventually owned a 46-35 advantage going into the fourth period. The Lakers could get no closer than seven points the rest of the way.

Trotter paced the Huskies with 20 points while adding six steals, four assists, and four rebounds to the stat sheet in Thursday's win. Botz tossed in 14 points and matched a career high with 17 rebounds. It's the third time she has been able to accomplish that feat during her career at Tech. McGirk chipped in nine points off the bench and had a pair of blocked shots.

The Huskies converted on 21 of 58 shots from the field (36.2%), were 6 of 18 from behind the arc (33.3%), and 14 for 18 at the free throw line (77.8%). Tech combined for 12 assists and committed only nine turnovers compared to the Lakers who were forced into 19 miscues. The Huskies took advantage and turned them into 23 points on the offensive end of the floor.

Abigail Ostman guided the Lakers with 18 points followed by Khon with 12 points in Thursday's game. Mattison Rayman ended the evening with six points and a team high 10 rebounds. Lake Superior State made 18 of 50 shots from the field (36.0%), were 7 for 18 from three-point range (38.9%), and 9 of 15 at the charity stripe (60.0%). The Lakers had a slight edge in rebounding 38-37.

The Huskies are back on the court Saturday afternoon when they host Ferris State in another GLIAC showdown at the SDC Gym. The Bulldogs edged Northern Michigan 66-60 in Marquette Thursday evening. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 1:00 p.m. eastern time.