No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
Final
28 Northern Michigan
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
Final
55 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
Final
85 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
81 at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
55 at Purdue Northwest
Westville, Ind.
Thu Jan 16
Final
52 Lake Superior State
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
Final - OT
80 Ferris State
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
Final
44 Michigan Tech
70 at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
Final
66 Michigan Tech
81 at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
Final
50 Michigan Tech
62 at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
Final
77 Michigan Tech
85 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
Final
53 Purdue Northwest
63 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
Final
80 Parkside
66 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
Final
70 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
Final
75 Michigan Tech
61 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
Final
60 Davenport
74 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
Final
70 Grand Valley State
49 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Thu Feb 27
Final
51 Michigan Tech
48 at Northern Michigan
Tue Mar 03
Final
34 Michigan Tech
65 at Grand Valley State
GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall at Parkside 81-73 Thursday Night

Cassidy Trotter attempting a free throw
Photo Courtesy of Parkside Athletics

KENOSHA, Wis. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team suffered an 81-73 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference setback on the road at Parkside Thursday night. The Huskies rallied from a nine-point deficit at halftime to grab a 55-52 edge late in the third quarter, but the Rangers were able to regroup in the fourth quarter to pull away.

"I thought we did a much better job attacking pressure in the second half," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "Cassidy [Trotter] and Ellie [Mackay] stepped up on that end, but it really comes down to our defense. We didn't get stops when we needed to and let their best players catch fire. We gave up too many layups and rhythm three's that led to high shooting percentages for them. We have to be better defensively if we want to compete in this league."

Carolina Rahkonen opened the scoring for Parkside (8-6, 5-1 GLIAC) with a triple after both teams were held off the scoreboard for the first 90 seconds of the game. Senior Hannah Hobson got Michigan Tech (5-8, 3-3 GLIAC) on the board with a layup following an offensive rebound with 8:04 to play in the first quarter.

Following a layup from Parkside's Taylor Stephen that made it 5-2, the Huskies responded with the next four points to slide in front for the first time. Junior Cassidy Trotter hit a mid-range jumper on the ensuing possession followed by a jumper from senior Abbie Botz, resulting in a 6-5 lead for Tech at the 7:26 mark of the first frame.

After a series of traded points, the Rangers were able to open up a 16-11 gap on a Grace Scalzo triple with 4:19 to play in the first. The Huskies kept the Rangers in their sights and prevented them from putting together a larger run. Hobson pulled the Huskies back to within two points at 20-18 on a layup right before the end of the first period.

Hobson then quickly deadlocked the score at 20-20 on the initial possession of the second period, once again finding her way into the paint where she received a pass from junior Cassidy Trotter to setup the field goal. Unfortunately, Parkside connected on back-to-back treys and held the lead for the rest of the half. The Rangers eventually created a 33-22 lead on a three-point bucket from Alyssa Nelson at the midway point of the second quarter, their largest advantage of the night at that juncture.

The Huskies chipped away at the deficit over the next few minutes though and with just under a minute to play until the break, Trotter pulled Tech back to within three-points at 38-35 on a pair of free throws. However, Parkside finished off the half with two more triples and tacked on another to begin the third, leaving the score at 47-35 with 9:22 on the clock.

The Huskies continued to trail by double digits until a three-point attempt by Trotter found the target with 6:06 to play in the third. Trotter's field goal sliced the gap to 52-45 and ignited a 13-0 scoring run by the Huskies. The burst was capped by sophomore Ellie Mackay, thanks to a field goal with 47 seconds remaining in the third. Mackay's basket gave the Huskies a 55-52 lead and some much-needed momentum.

Once again though, the Rangers regrouped with an 8-0 run of their own to reclaim the lead. Rahkonen dropped in a layup to wrap up the third period and then with 7:40 to play in the fourth, Claire Jakaitis attacked the paint for an additional layup to close the run. The Huskies remained within striking distance until the end, but weren't able to engineer another run in the final moments to overtake Parkside.

Mackay paced the Huskies with 21 points and had three steals on the defensive end of the floor followed by Hobson with 20 points and eight rebounds. Trotter tacked on 17 points and hauled down seven rebounds while Botz notched a double-double with 13 points and 13 rebounds. As a team, the Huskies connected on 26 of 67 shots from the field (38.8%), were 4 of 13 from behind the arc (30.8%), and 17 of 19 at the free throw line (89.5%). Tech won the battle of the boards 41-32 and had 14 second chance points.

Stephen led the Rangers with 20 points and eight rebounds followed by Nelson with 19 points Thursday night. Jakaitis had 14 points off the bench and Rahkonen rounded out the double-digit scorers with 13 points. Maddy Harrison collected eight points and a team high nine rebounds. Parkside found success on 26 of 58 shots from the field (44.8%), were 9 of 23 from long distance (39.1%), and 20 of 22 at the free throw line (90.9%). The Rangers were able to post 18 points off of turnovers.

The Huskies will look to bounce back on Saturday when they travel to Purdue Northwest for another GLIAC matchup. The tip-off is scheduled for 2 p.m. eastern time.