Tech Nordic Skiing to Compete in Gitchi Gami Games

Tech Nordic Skiing to Compete in Gitchi Gami Games

Race Information

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The 2019-2020 season rolls on as the Michigan Tech Nordic Ski team travels to Cable, Wisconsin for the 2020 Gitchi Gami Games. The Huskies will ski in the 10K classic on Sunday (Jan. 24) from the Birkie Trailhead.

Tech enters the Gitchi Gami Games following a successful weekend of competition at the CCSA Mt. Itasca Invitational in Minnesota, where Sarah Goble finished first and Henriette Semb finished fifth in the 5K skate and Reid Goble took third in the 20K classic. Other Tech skiers contributed to the effort in Minnesota, with Emma Albrecht, Oda Hovland, and Anabel Needham scoring top 10 finishes in both women's races, and Aleksi Leino, Patrick Acton, Mark Ousdigian, Mitch DeLong, and David Jaszczak all scored top 10 finishes in the men's races.

The Huskies will use this race to continue their push for NCAA team qualification as well as CCSA points. Michigan Tech secured the first CCSA victory of the season on the second race day of the 2020 L.L. Bean U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships in the Freestyle Individual event, placing a total of five men's and women's Huskies skiers inside the top 10 among under-23 competitors.

Michigan Tech will ski in the 10K classic on Sunday (Jan. 26) at 9:30 a.m. Central (10:30 a.m. Eastern) for the men's race, and at 10:45 a.m. Central (11:45 a.m. Eastern) for the women's race. The race information page for the 2020 Gitchi Gami Games is linked at the top of the page.