No Event
Sat Dec 14
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, Mich.
Sun Dec 15
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, Mich.
Sat Dec 21
MTU Pre-Nationals CXC Cup - Tech Trails
Skate Sprint
Sun Dec 22
MTU Pre-Nationals CXC Cup - Tech Trails
Classic 10/10K
Thu Jan 02
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Skate Sprint
Fri Jan 03
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Skate 10/15K
Sun Jan 05
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Classic 7.5/10/20/30K
Tue Jan 07
US Cross Country Championships - Tech Trails
Classic Sprint
Sat Jan 18
at CCSA Mt. Itasca Invitational - Coleraine, Minn.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Jan 19
at CCSA Mt. Itasca Invitational - Coleraine, Minn.
Classic 15/20K
Sun Jan 26
at CCSA Gitchi Gami Games - Cable, Wis.
Classic 10/15K
Sat Feb 01
at CCSA Northwoods Nordic Invitational - Rhinelander, Wis.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 02
at CCSA Northwoods Nordic Invitational - Rhinelander, Wis.
Classic 15/20K
Sat Feb 15
9:30 am (M) / 12:00 pm (W)
CCSA Championships - Tech Trails
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 16
9:30 am (M) / 12:00 pm (W)
CCSA Championships - Tech Trails
Classic 15/20K
Sat Feb 22
at NCAA Central Regional Championships - Ishpeming, Mich.
Skate 5/10K
Sun Feb 23
at NCAA Central Regional Championships - Ishpeming, Mich.
Classic 15/20K
Thu Mar 12
at NCAA Championships - Bozeman, Mont.
Skate 5/10K
Sat Mar 14
Cancelled
at NCAA Championships - Bozeman, Mont.
Classic 15/20K
View Full Schedule

Huskies Nab First CCSA Win at Cross Country Ski Championships

Huskies Nab First CCSA Win at Cross Country Ski Championships

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech Nordic Ski team continued its strong start to the 2020 L.L. Bean U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships. In the Freestyle Individual event on Friday (Jan. 3), Sarah Goble and Henriette Semb both had solid outings in the women's events, while Patrick Acton scored a top five finish in the men's under-23 category.

With their excellent team performance on the day, the Huskies won the first CCSA team title of the season, earning them a vital point in team NCAA qualifying. Goble took the individual title among CCSA skiers while Semb finished second among conference competitors in the Freestyle Individual. Patrick Acton took the individual CCSA title with a first-place finish in the men's race, while Reid Goble finished third.

Sarah Goble followed up her semifinal performance in Thursday's Freestyle Sprint by crossing the finish line at 29:37.6 of the women's 10K Freestyle Individual event, placing her fourth among under-23 skiers. Henriette Semb also put in a great showing on Friday, finishing eighth in the under-23 category with a time of 30:04.1. Representing Tech among the top under-20 skiers on the day was Anabel Needham with a finish of 31:13.2, placing her eighth among under-20 competitors.

In the men's 15K Freestyle Individual, Acton was the top performer for Tech. A junior from Eagan, Minnesota, Patrick Acton skied across the finish line at 39:07.20 to place him fifth among American U-23 skiers. Another Tech student-athlete to put in a good day on the trails was Reid Goble, who crossed the finish line at 39:39.7. A junior from Harbor Springs, Michigan, Reid Goble's time placed him eighth in the American under-23 category.

The action continues at the 2020 L.L. Bean U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships on Sunday (Jan. 5) when the skiers will compete in the Classic Mass Start. The men will ski first in the 30K senior event at 9:30 a.m., followed by the women in the 20K senior event at 1 p.m. In the junior events, the women will ski at 11:30 a.m. in the 7.5K race, and the men's 10K junior race will conclude the day's action at 2:30 p.m.

We'd like to thank all of our local partners, including Joey's Seafood & Grill, Bonfire Bar & Grill, Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, and more. Visit the sponsor page of USNationals.mtu.edu to find out more information on our event partners.