Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Huskies conclude season at Lake Superior State

Huskies conclude season at Lake Superior State

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. - Michigan Tech men's tennis ended their regular season with a 6-1 road loss to Lake Superior State in Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference play Saturday at Arbuckle Activity Center. The Lakers collected the team doubles point with wins at No. 1 and No. 3, then took five singles matches to dash the Huskies' hopes of reaching postseason play.

Tech entered the day needing a win and a Purdue Northwest loss to make the top-six in the GLIAC standings. Instead, the Huskies finished the year 1-10 overall, 1-6 in GLIAC play.

Lake Superior State's Juho Kantola used a strong serve at No. 1 singles to put away freshman Adam Fenjiro 6-1, 6-1. Kantola defeated No. 32 ranked Dom Spicer (Wayne State) in three sets earlier this season. Vitor Jordao moved well at the baseline and limited unforced errors to collect his second singles win this season at No. 2 over Xavier Vincent 7-6(6), 7-5.

The Lakers were straight-set winners at singles positions three through six. 

Senior Siddhesh Mahadeshwar ended his Husky career with a 6-3, 6-2 defeat at No. 5 to Ali Sahibzada. Mahadeshwar teamed with Eli Pinnoo to win at No. 2 doubles 6-3 over Diego Penz and Xavier Vincent.

"Today wasn't the way we wanted to finish the spring but I still feel good about the strides we made this season," said head coach Kristin Yep. "I think we have to continue to get better as we head into next year and I was glad we broke our winless streak against conference opponents."



  1. LSSU (Juho Kantola/Aaron Osmond) def. MTU (Vitor Jordao/Adam Fenjiro) 6-1
  2. MTU (Eli Pinnoo/Siddhesh Mahadeshwar) def. LSSU (Diego Penz/Xavier Vincent) 6-3
  3. LSSU (Krishan Taneja/Ali Sahibzada) def. MTU (Ricardo Nunez/Ambarish Rao) 6-4

Order of Finish: 1,2,3


  1.  LSSU (Juho Kantola) def. MTU (Adam Fenjiro) 6-1, 6-1
  2.  MTU (Vitor Jordao) def. LSSU (Xavier Vincent) 7-6(6), 7-5
  3.  LSSU (Krishan Taneja) def. MTU (Nikolai Prosjanykov) 6-2, 6-0
  4.  LSSU (Aaron Osmond) def. MTU (Eli Pinnoo) 6-0, 6-2
  5.  LSSU (Ali Sahibzada) def. MTU (Siddhesh Mahadeshwar) 6-3, 6-2
  6.  LSSU (Diego Penz) def. MTU (Ricardo Nunez) 6-1, 6-3