No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Northwood
93 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
Final
72 Finlandia
119 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
Final
64 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
Final
60 Algoma University (Ontario)
117 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
Final
68 Wayne State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
Final
63 Ashland
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
Final
56 Michigan Tech
69 at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
Final
84 Michigan Tech
77 at Purdue Northwest
Westville, Ind.
Thu Jan 16
Final
81 Lake Superior State
102 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
Final
90 Ferris State
102 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
Final - OT
93 Michigan Tech
95 at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
Final
69 Michigan Tech
61 at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
Final
63 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
Final
69 Michigan Tech
73 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
Final
72 Purdue Northwest
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
Final
55 Parkside
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
Final
71 Michigan Tech
76 at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
Final
69 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
Final
63 Davenport
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
Final
70 Grand Valley State
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Thu Feb 27
Final
91 Michigan Tech
61 at Northern Michigan
Tue Mar 03
Final
56 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 07
Final
69 Michigan Tech
53 at Grand Valley State
GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Mar 08
Final
57 Northwood
68 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Allendale Charter Township, MI GLIAC Tournament Championship
Sat Mar 14
Cancelled
Bellarmine
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Indianapolis NCAA Midwest Regional
View Full Schedule

Huskies Pull Away for 117-60 Win over Algoma (Ontario)

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team closed out the 2019 calendar year with a dominating 117-60 non-conference victory over Algoma University (Ontario) Saturday afternoon at the SDC Gym. The Huskies surpassed the 100-point threshold for the second time in the last three games as they moved to 8-3 on the season.

"It was really nice to have everybody get another opportunity to play today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "I appreciate Algoma for being willing to come here and play. We had a good week of practice leading up to the game and that was critical for our team coming off our previous game. We got back to playing Tech basketball today and that was a great way to leave for the Holiday break. I really appreciated our effort as a team and a game like this can give our young players some confidence for when they are called upon to go into games coming down the stretch.

"We have to enjoy the Holiday's for a few days before we face two more really good teams in Wayne State and Ashland to start January. Those two games will be typical tough GLIAC battles and by rule we'll have three practices to get ready leading into the Thursday game against the Warriors. Everybody in the country at the division two level has to do it and I feel fortunate to be at home for that reason."

Michigan Tech (8-3) powered out of the gate with a 9-0 scoring burst to begin Saturday's battle with Algoma (2-10). Junior Dawson Bilski had the hot hand early for the Huskies, pouring in the first nine points of the afternoon. Bilski got Tech on the board with a triple in the opening minute and followed that up with a four-point play on the ensuing possession. Bilski then made it 9-0 Tech on a layup with 17:42 to play in the first half.

Josiah Harper put the Thunderbirds on the board for the first time when he got to the basket for a layup with 17:26 on the clock. The Huskies then created a 12-point lead about 90 seconds later on a dunk courtesy of sophomore Owen White, resulting in a 14-2 Tech advantage. Algoma then found a bit of a rhythm and slowly closed the gap over the next few minutes. A Nicholas Gehlen layup brought the Thunderbirds to within six points of the Huskies at 26-20 with 9:40 remaining in the first half.

However, the Huskies countered with a 19-2 scoring run to take control of the contest late in the first half. Bilski ignited the attack with a triple followed shortly thereafter by a three-point field goal from junior Isaac Appleby. Four different Tech players had points during that stretch, with senior Kyle Monroe capping the run with a three-point basket at the 4:55 mark of the first half to make it a 45-22 score.

The Huskies then posted 15 of the final 16 points in the opening period to a carry a 64-28 lead into the locker room at halftime. The 64-point total for a half was just five points shy of the school record of 69 points, which was set against Northwood on February 4, 1993.

The Huskies continued to build their lead throughout the second half Saturday afternoon. The biggest cushion of the contest occurred at the 1:03 mark when freshman Devin Schmitz filled up a jumper from downtown to make it a 116-55 score. Sophomore TeeAaron Powell recorded the final point of the game for the Huskies at the free throw line with 35 seconds left on the clock.

Monroe poured in a season high 30 points, connecting on 12 of 16 shots from the field while adding three rebounds and a pair of blocked shots to the stat sheet. Bilski followed with 17 points, freshman Eric Carl had 15 points, three rebounds, four assists, and four steals, and White rounded out the double-digit scorers with 11 points. Powell generated a season best nine points with junior Trent Bell and Appleby sending in seven points each. Junior Tommy Lucca had a game high eight assists and five rebounds.

The Huskies made over 60 percent of their shots in a game for the third time this season, sending in 46-of 73 total attempts (63.0%) on Saturday afternoon. Tech made 16 of 28 chances from long distance (57.1%) and went 9 for 13 at the charity stripe (69.2%). The Huskies out-rebounded the Thunderbirds 38-29 and dished out 29 total assists for the second time this season. Tech's defense forced 20 turnovers which led to 32 points on the offensive end of the floor. Meanwhile, the offense turned the ball over just four times which was just one shy of the school record of three set against four different opponents.

Vincent Falardeau paced Algoma with 16 points followed by Nicholas Gehlen with 14 points on Saturday. Maxime Bellony tossed in nine points and had a game high eight rebounds for the Thunderbirds. Harper and Daniel Humphrey chipped in eight points each for Algoma. The Thunderbirds connected on 19 of 53 shots from the field (35.8%), were 6 of 20 from beyond the three-point arc (30.0%), and were 16 of 21 at the free throw line (76.2%).

The Huskies continue their seven game homestand on Thursday January 2 when they host Wayne State in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest in the SDC Gym. Tech will then play Ashland on Saturday January 4 to wrap up the weekend. Thursday's tip-off against the Warriors is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. eastern time.